AEA Educational Foundation awards more than $125,000 in scholarships for 2016-17 academic year

LEE'S SUMMIT, MISSOURI, June 23, 2016 -- The Aircraft Electronics Association's Educational Foundation announced the names of the individuals who were awarded scholarships worth more than $125,000 for the 2016-17 academic year.

AEA scholarships and the individual recipients are as follows:

  • Chuck Freeland Memorial Scholarship: Arturo Mendez, Van Nuys, California
  • Chuck Peacock Memorial Scholarship: Elaine Stevens, Rochester, New Hampshire
  • David Arver Memorial Scholarship: Daniel Vasquez, Doral, Florida
  • Duncan Aviation Scholarship: Jonathan Conod, Ormond Beach, Florida
  • Dutch & Ginger Arver Memorial Scholarship: Matthew Stuckey, Haltom City, Texas
  • Field Aviation Scholarship: Aaron Norg, Tilbury, Ontario, Canada
  • Garmin Scholarship: Justin Wiley, Caldwell, Idaho
  • Garmin -- Jerry Smith Memorial Scholarship: Diego Meyers, Daytona Beach, Florida
  • Gene Baker Memorial Scholarship: Isabella Brauhn, Ottumwa, Iowa 
  • Gogo Business Aviation Scholarship: Collin McDonald, Carthage, Tennessee
  • Jim Cook Honorary Scholarship: Garrett Szura, Georgetown, Texas 
  • Johnny Davis Memorial Scholarship: Martin Taar, Calgary, Alberta, Canada
  • L-3 Aviation Products Scholarship: Bryan Behm, Fleetwood, Pennsylvania
  • Lee Tarbox Memorial Scholarship, sponsored by Pacific Southwest Instruments: Justin Reimer, Gardner, Kansas
  • Leon Harris/Les Nichols Memorial Scholarship to Spartan College of Aeronautics & Technology: Tyler Manning, Tulsa, Oklahoma
  • Lowell Gaylor Memorial Scholarship: David Collins, Pocatello, Idaho
  • Marshall Temple Memorial Scholarship: Julian LeBenne, Erie, Pennsylvania
  • Mid-Continent Instruments and Avionics Scholarship: Mikayla Green, Woodland Park, Colorado
  • Monte Mitchell Memorial Scholarship: Joanne Coller of Red Eagle Avionics, New Castle, Delaware; Vibart Octave of Kitchener Aero Avionics, Breslau, Ontario, Canada
  • The Stone Foundation Scholarship: Gregory Haller, Grand Forks, North Dakota
  • Thomas J. Slocum Memorial Scholarship to Redstone College: Anthony Hendricks, Denver, Colorado
  • Tom Taylor Memorial Scholarship to Spartan College of Aeronautics & Technology: Cody Hefley, Tulsa, Oklahoma
  • Universal Avionics Systems Corp. Scholarship: Alexander Izucar-Ramirez, Idaho Falls, Idaho

The AEA Educational Foundation awards scholarships to students pursuing a career in the general aviation maintenance and aircraft electronics industry. The intent of these scholarships is to identify and reward those individuals who best exemplify the qualities that lead to success in the aviation industry. 

The Foundation was created in 1990 to enhance, promote and secure the future of aviation maintenance and the AEA by furthering the education of students, technicians, members of the AEA and others as determined by aviation industry needs. 

Since its inception, the AEA scholarship program has awarded more than $1.5 million in scholarships. Numerous awards are available, ranging from $1,000 to more than $40,000 each. Requests for complete scholarship packages for the 2017-18 academic year can be made after Oct. 1, 2016, online at

For more information about the AEA Educational Foundation, contact Mike Adamson, the Foundation's executive director, at 816-347-8400.


– 30 –

Founded in 1957, the Aircraft Electronics Association represents nearly 1,300 member companies in more than 40 countries, including approved maintenance organizations specializing in maintenance, repair and installation of aircraft electronics systems in general aviation aircraft. The AEA membership also includes manufacturers of aircraft electronics equipment, instrument repair facilities, instrument manufacturers, airframe manufacturers, test equipment manufacturers, major distributors, engineers and educational institutions.