AEA Educational Foundation announces scholarship winners

25 individuals receive scholarship for 2024-25 academic year

LEE'S SUMMIT, MISSOURI, June 24, 2024 – The Aircraft Electronics Association's Educational Foundation announced the names of the individuals who were awarded scholarships for the 2024-25 academic year. The individual recipients are as follows:

  • Bill Barnes Memorial Scholarship: Austin Reenders of Oostburg, Wisconsin
  • Chuck Freeland Memorial Scholarship: Cooper Hadaway of Santa Margarita, California
  • Chuck Peacock Memorial Scholarship: Tyler Kelly of Kansas City, Missouri
  • David Arver Memorial Scholarship: Micah Chin of Germantown, Maryland
  • Dutch and Ginger Arver Memorial Scholarship: James Conkle of Washington, Pennsylvania
  • Field Aviation Scholarship: Hillary Labustro of Winnipeg, Manitoba
  • Garmin Scholarship: Garrett Hickson of Eagan, Minnesota
  • Garmin - Jerry Smith Memorial Scholarship: Hayden Harvey of Earleville, Maryland
  • Gene Baker Memorial Scholarship: Keith Falkner of Standish, Maine
  • Gogo Business Aviation Scholarship: John Kendall of Iron, Minnesota
  • Jim Cook Honorary Scholarship: Tristen Dyke of New London, Connecticut
  • Kent McIntyre Memorial Scholarship: Stone Zink of Rutland, Maine
  • Kevin Miesbach Memorial Scholarship: Calvin Wickersham of Council Bluffs, Iowa
  • Lee Tarbox Memorial Scholarship sponsored by Pacific Southwest Instruments: Cullen Sloss of Weirton, West Virginia
  • Marshall Temple Memorial Scholarship: John McNaughton of Trafford, Pennsylvania
  • Mid-Continent Instruments and Avionics Scholarship: Andrew Haynes of Cary, North Carolina
  • Monte Mitchell Scholarship: Logan Akers with Signature TechnicAir in Greensboro, North Carolina; Elijah Baker with Baker Avionics in Grants Pass, Oregon; Tatum Stewart with Air Sense Avionics in Scappoose, Oregon; and Troy Harris with Midwest Avionics in Lee's Summit, Missouri
  • Pat Napolitano Memorial Scholarship: Joshua Dykstra of Pittsburg, Pennsylvania
  • Sporty's Foundation Scholarship: Nadine Gallero of Kansas City, Missouri
  • Susan T. Friedle Scholarship: Gretchen Pals of Daytona Beach, Florida
  • The Stone Foundation Scholarship: Zachary Minchew of Carterville, Illinois
  • Universal Avionics Scholarship: Raul Cornejo of Fort Lauderdale, Florida

The AEA Educational Foundation annually awards scholarships to students pursuing a career in avionics or aircraft maintenance, as well as students from AEA member companies. The Foundation was created in 1990 to enhance, promote and secure the future of aviation maintenance by furthering the education of students, technicians, members of the AEA and others as determined by aviation industry needs.

Since its inception, the AEA has awarded more than $1.5 million in scholarships. Individuals interested in one or more of these scholarships for the 2025-26 academic year may download an application after Oct. 1, 2024, at


– 30 –

Founded in 1957, the Aircraft Electronics Association represents nearly 1,300 member companies in more than 40 countries, including approved maintenance organizations specializing in maintenance, repair and installation of aircraft electronics systems in general aviation aircraft. The AEA membership also includes manufacturers of aircraft electronics equipment, instrument repair facilities, instrument manufacturers, airframe manufacturers, test equipment manufacturers, major distributors, engineers and educational institutions.