AEA Educational Foundation awards more than $100,000 in scholarships for 2018-19 academic year

LEE'S SUMMIT, MISSOURI, July 3, 2018 -- The Aircraft Electronics Association's Educational Foundation announced the names of the individuals who were awarded scholarships worth more than $100,000 for the 2018-19 academic year.

The individual recipients are as follows:

  • Chuck Freeland Memorial Scholarship: Melanie Mann, Frisco, Texas
  • Chuck Peacock Memorial Scholarship: Steven Reeves, Clearwater, Kansas
  • David Arver Memorial Scholarship: Jacob LaBreche, Little Falls, New York
  • Duncan Aviation Scholarship: John Fadroski, Daytona Beach, Florida
  • Dutch & Ginger Arver Memorial Scholarship: Valentine Garland, Farmington Hills, Michigan
  • Field Aviation Scholarship: Michael Ikeagwu, Calgary, Alberta, Canada
  • Garmin -- Jerry Smith Memorial Scholarship: Ariel Gleason, Port Orange, Florida
  • Garmin Scholarship: Imran Zaveri, Rockford, Illinois
  • Gene Baker Memorial Scholarship: Evan Falk, Holt, Michigan
  • Gogo Business Aviation Scholarship: Joshua Wolbeck, Hitterdal, Minnesota
  • Jim Cook Honorary Scholarship: Collin Gallagher, Cincinnati, Ohio
  • Johnny Davis Memorial Scholarship: Matthew Leight, Frederick, Maryland
  • L3 Aviation Products Scholarship: John McLaughlin, Greensboro, North Carolina
  • Lee Tarbox Memorial Scholarship: Mario DelBoccio, Carbondale, Illinois
  • Leon Harris/Les Nichols Memorial Scholarship to Spartan College of Aeronautics and Technology: Ryan Moore, Paris, Arkansas
  • Marshall Temple Memorial Scholarship: Sam Pham, Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
  • Mid-Continent Instruments and Avionics Scholarship: Nicholas Katerberg, Hudsonville, Michigan
  • Monte Mitchell Memorial Scholarship: Brandy Brockman, San Diego, California; Avery Commodore, Gig Harbor, Washington
  • Sporty's Foundation Flight Training Scholarship: Andrew McReynolds, Carl Junction, Missouri; Jesiah Payne, Gerry, New York
  • Stone Foundation Scholarship: Doug Sena, Wyoming, Ohio
  • Tom Taylor Memorial Scholarship to Spartan College of Aeronautics and Technology: Clayton Cotton, Delta, Colorado
  • Universal Avionics Systems Corp. Scholarship: Maureen Murphy, Bridgewater, Massachusetts


The AEA Educational Foundation awards scholarships to students pursuing a career in the general aviation maintenance and aircraft electronics industry. The intent of these scholarships is to identify and reward those individuals who best exemplify the qualities that lead to success in the aviation industry.

The Foundation was created in 1990 to enhance, promote and secure the future of aviation maintenance and the AEA by furthering the education of students, technicians, members of the AEA and others as determined by aviation industry needs.

Since its inception, the AEA scholarship program has awarded more than $1.5 million in scholarships. Numerous awards are available, ranging from $1,000 to more than $30,000 each. Requests for complete scholarship packages for the 2019-20 academic year can be made after Oct. 1, 2018, at

For more information about the AEA Educational Foundation, contact Mike Adamson, the Foundation's executive director, at 816-347-8400.


– 30 –

Founded in 1957, the Aircraft Electronics Association represents nearly 1,300 member companies in more than 40 countries, including approved maintenance organizations specializing in maintenance, repair and installation of aircraft electronics systems in general aviation aircraft. The AEA membership also includes manufacturers of aircraft electronics equipment, instrument repair facilities, instrument manufacturers, airframe manufacturers, test equipment manufacturers, major distributors, engineers and educational institutions.