AEA Educational Foundation awards more than $100,000 in scholarships for 2019-20 academic year

LEE'S SUMMIT, MISSOURI, June 26, 2019 -- The Aircraft Electronics Association's Educational Foundation announced the names of the individuals who were awarded scholarships worth more than $100,000 for the 2019-20 academic year.

The individual recipients are as follows:

  • Chuck Freeland Memorial Scholarship: Nolan Mayden of Wellington, Kansas
  • Chuck Peacock Memorial Scholarship: Isaias Duran of Lakeland, Florida
  • David Arver Memorial Scholarship: Luke Apol of Caledonia, Michigan
  • Duncan Aviation Scholarship: Josiah Kangas of Iuka, Illinois
  • Dutch and Ginger Arver Memorial Scholarship: Javier Aguirre of Humble, Texas
  • Field Aviation Scholarship: Vincent Lin of Richmond, British Columbia, Canada
  • Garmin Scholarship: Daniel Baus of Archbold, Ohio
  • Garmin - Jerry Smith Memorial Scholarship: Alexander Abdallah of Erie, Colorado
  • Gogo Business Aviation Scholarship: Isaac Agbettor of Daytona Beach, Florida
  • Johnny Davis Memorial Scholarship: Tegan Collins of Bethel Park, Pennsylvania
  • L3 Commercial Aviation Scholarship: Christian DeKalb of Tucson, Arizona
  • Lee Tarbox Memorial Scholarship sponsored by Pacific Southwest Instruments: Patrick Lofvenholm of Mooresville, North Carolina
  • Leon Harris/Les Nichols Memorial Scholarship to Spartan College of Aeronautics and Technology: Jackson Eimen of Larkspur, Colorado
  • Marshall Temple Memorial Scholarship: Attila Szucs of Port Orange, Florida
  • Mid-Continent Instruments and Avionics Scholarship: Benjamin Thompson of Owasso, Oklahoma
  • Monte Mitchell Memorial Scholarship: Kris Foutre of Rocky Mountain Aircraft in Calgary, Alberta, Canada 
  • Pat Napolitano Memorial Scholarship: Joshua Wolbeck of Hitterdal, Minnesota
  • Sporty's Foundation Scholarship: Joshua Wolbeck of Hitterdal, Minnesota
  • The Stone Foundation Scholarship: Nehemias Gutierrez of Oshkosh, Wisconsin
  • Tom Taylor Memorial Scholarship to Spartan College of Aeronautics and Technology: David Barton of Marlow, Oklahoma
  • Universal Avionics Scholarship: Valentine Garland of Farmington Hills, Michigan


The AEA Educational Foundation awards scholarships to students pursuing a career in the general aviation maintenance and aircraft electronics industry. The intent of these scholarships is to identify and reward those individuals who best exemplify the qualities that lead to success in the aviation industry.

The Foundation was created in 1990 to enhance, promote and secure the future of aviation maintenance and the AEA by furthering the education of students, technicians, members of the AEA and others as determined by aviation industry needs.

Since its inception, the AEA scholarship program has awarded more than $1.5 million in scholarships. Numerous awards are available, ranging from $1,000 to more than $30,000 each. Requests for complete scholarship packages for the 2020-21 academic year can be made after Oct. 1, 2019, at


– 30 –

Founded in 1957, the Aircraft Electronics Association represents nearly 1,300 member companies in more than 40 countries, including approved maintenance organizations specializing in maintenance, repair and installation of aircraft electronics systems in general aviation aircraft. The AEA membership also includes manufacturers of aircraft electronics equipment, instrument repair facilities, instrument manufacturers, airframe manufacturers, test equipment manufacturers, major distributors, engineers and educational institutions.