AEA Educational Foundation announces scholarship winners

18 individuals receive scholarship for 2022-23 academic year

LEE'S SUMMIT, MISSOURI, June 27, 2022 -- The Aircraft Electronics Association's Educational Foundation announced the names of the individuals who were awarded scholarships for the 2022-23 academic year. The individual recipients are as follows:

  • Bill Barnes Memorial Scholarship: Ethan Sprague of Courtenay, North Dakota
  • Chuck Freeland Memorial Scholarship: Cody OConnell of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
  • Chuck Peacock Memorial Scholarship: Ryan Greer of Urbandale, Iowa
  • David Arver Memorial Scholarship: Samuel West of Tucson, Arizona
  • Duncan Aviation Scholarship: Luke Douglas of Ottawa, Kansas
  • Dutch and Ginger Arver Memorial Scholarship: Caleb Adam of Montoursville, Pennsylvania
  • Field Aviation Scholarship: Denis Ranque of Gravenhurst, Ontario
  • Garmin Scholarship: Mark Marlatt of Meridian, Idaho
  • Garmin - Jerry Smith Memorial Scholarship: Jessica Townsend of Ottumwa, Iowa
  • Gogo Business Aviation Scholarship: Joel Mink of Florence, Kentucky
  • Jim Cook Honorary Scholarship: Holly Stooksbury of Fort Collins, Colorado
  • Johnny Davis Memorial Scholarship: Johny Sunil of Des Plaines, Illinois
  • Lee Tarbox Memorial Scholarship sponsored by Pacific Southwest Instruments: Christian Pavelka of Whitefish, Montana
  • Marshall Temple Memorial Scholarship: Elias Wiley of Jacksonville, Florida
  • Mid-Continent Instruments and Avionics Scholarship: Owen Graham of Caledonia, Michigan
  • Pat Napolitano Memorial Scholarship: Philip Krzyszton of Waumandee, Wisconsin
  • The Stone Foundation Scholarship: Marci Haengel of Greenville, Michigan
  • Universal Avionics Scholarship: Jordan Burkett of Melba, Idaho

The AEA Educational Foundation annually awards scholarships to students pursuing a career in avionics or aircraft maintenance, as well as students from AEA member companies. The Foundation was created in 1990 to enhance, promote and secure the future of aviation maintenance by furthering the education of students, technicians, members of the AEA and others as determined by aviation industry needs.

Since its inception, the AEA has awarded more than $1.5 million in scholarships. Individuals interested in one or more of these scholarships for the 2023-24 academic year may download an application after Oct. 1, 2022, at


– 30 –

Founded in 1957, the Aircraft Electronics Association represents nearly 1,300 member companies in more than 40 countries, including approved maintenance organizations specializing in maintenance, repair and installation of aircraft electronics systems in general aviation aircraft. The AEA membership also includes manufacturers of aircraft electronics equipment, instrument repair facilities, instrument manufacturers, airframe manufacturers, test equipment manufacturers, major distributors, engineers and educational institutions.