AEA elects new board members

Board appoints Kris Garberg treasurer; Jamie Luster secretary

Members of the Aircraft Electronics Association recently elected representatives to the board of directors to serve a three-year term through March 2027. Four incumbents were reelected to serve an additional term, while two individuals were elected for the first time.

  • Kevin Barton, Bartronix Aerospace Services
  • Mike Berryhill, Cirrus Aircraft
  • Pat Coleman, Garmin
  • Don Dominguez, San Luis Avionics
  • Kris Garberg, Appareo
  • Tom Simon, Collins Aerospace

In addition, the board of directors elected new officers. Kris Garberg of Appareo was named treasurer, and Jamie Luster of Genesys Aerosystems will serve as secretary.

Bill Hanf, president and owner of Green Mountain Avionics in Middlebury, Vermont, will continue to serve as chair of the board, while Mike Berryhill of Cirrus Aircraft will continue to serve as vice chair.



Kevin Barton begins his second term on the board and represents Canada. He is the leader of the certification and engineering team at Bartronix Aerospace Services, a company that specializes in aircraft modifications and manufacturing.

Barton has 23 years of experience in the aviation industry, working as an avionics AME, an instructor, and a delegate. He is currently a Transport Canada delegate and an AME-E, with a thorough understanding of the regulations and the latest industry trends. Barton also serves as chair of the AEA's government and industry affairs committee and participates on the delegates subcommittee.



Mike Berryhill begins his third term on the board and will continue to serve as vice chair. He is a highly accomplished aviation professional with an illustrious career spanning 34 years marked by dedicated service, leadership roles, and a profound impact on the industry.

Berryhill also serves as co-chair of the AEA's workforce development committee and chair of the trusteeship committee. In 2020 and 2021, Berryhill played a crucial role in the AEA's strategic planning initiative, contributing his expertise to the collaborative efforts of the board and staff. His commitment to excellence was acknowledged with the Cirrus Customer Experience 5-Star Award in the third quarter of 2019, reflecting his unwavering dedication to delivering exceptional service.



Pat Coleman begins his first term on the board. He is the manager of aftermarket sales for the Americas at Garmin International, where he is primarily responsible for overseeing sales through the Garmin Aviation dealer network. Coleman also is a member of the AEA workforce development committee.

Over the course of almost 14 years, he has spent his entire professional career working for Garmin Aviation. Coleman graduated from Southern Illinois University in Carbondale, Illinois, with a bachelor's degree in aviation management and an associate degree in aviation flight. His pilot experience includes a commercial pilot license with multi-engine and instrument ratings.



Don Dominguez begins his third term on the board. In addition to serving as general manager of San Luis Avionics, his professional responsibilities include chief inspector, quality control, installation technician and sales manager.

Dominguez also teaches various technical courses, including the AEA’s pitot-static and transponder certification training course at the AEA’s Dan Derby Center for Professional Development. He is an FAA Safety Team member and regularly attends the AEA Convention and Regionals.


Kris Garberg begins his third term on the board. After serving as the board's secretary, Garberg will transition to treasurer. In his role as president of aviation, Garberg oversees the entire aviation business segment of Appareo. Under his leadership, Appareo was named the AEA Associate Member of the Year in 2017. 

Garberg is a member of the AEA’s trusteeship committee and will now chair the finance committee. An active pilot, he regularly presents product sessions and courses at various association events, including the AEA Convention. Garberg is also a current board member of the General Aviation Manufactures Association.



Jamie Luster is in her first term of service after her election in 2022 and has been appointed by the board to serve as secretary. She is the director of sales and marketing for Genesys Aerosystems, headquartered in Mineral Wells, Texas. Luster joined the company in August 2011 and has over 26 years of experience in the aviation industry working for both aircraft OEMs and avionics companies such as Avidyne and FreeFlight Systems.

She recently served on the AEA’s strategic planning committee helping to redefine the mission, vision and goals of the association. Luster graduated from Oklahoma State University in 1996 with a Bachelor of Science in aviation management. She holds a private pilot license with more than 450 hours, mostly in Mooney aircraft.



Tom Simon begins his first term on the board. He is an account director for Collins Aerospace, responsible for Duncan Aviation and Gulfstream, and is based in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Simon has worked in marketing and sales during his career of 30 years in avionics.

From 1993 to 1999, Simon worked for Garmin International in Olathe, Kansas. In 1999, he joined Rockwell Collins (now Collins Aerospace) where he has held roles in dealer sales, aftermarket marketing, OEM account director, and director of business development. Simon has led sales teams in business aviation for both the dealer and aircraft OEM markets. 

Simon serves on the AEA member relationships committee and is a pilot holding a commercial license with an instrument rating. He has a Bachelor of Science from Iowa State University in aerospace engineering and a master’s degree in business administration from the University of Iowa.